• Address

    Larne B.C.
    Glenarm Road
    BT40 1DZ
    028 2827 2599

  • Club Chairperson

    Mr. D. Jenkins

  • Secretary

    Ms. H. Russell
    07920 187 089

  • Match Secretary

    Ms. R Johnston (A Team)
    02828 273 204
    07423 058 734

    Ms.J.Whelan (B Team)
    02828 269 535
    07890 673 259

Larne Bowling Club

    The formation of Larne Bowling and Lawn Tennis club started with meetings in 1907 when the current site was offered with a 2000 year lease and on 9th November 1908 the Larne Bowling and Lawn Tennis club came into being. The Larne green was laid in 1909 using fine West Cumberland Turf laid in a diagonal pattern. The green was a good one right from the start and with careful maintenance remains one of the best bowling surfaces in Ireland.

    Ladies are first recorded as playing bowls in 1937 then in 1999 the club rules were changed and the Lady bowlers were granted the same rights and privileges as their male counterparts and they have not looked back since. The Ladies Bowling Section is well organised and bristling with enthusiasm. They run a popular rinks day on Tuesdays and field a senior and a junior team in the N.I.W.P.G.L.

    The club has been fortunate in obtaining £500K from Sport N.I. to develop and improve the clubhouse facilities and work was completed in 2009. This is part of the Club's five year sports developement plan which includes encouraging new players,developement of existing players, coaching courses, evening and weekend bowling, facilities for the local schools, encouraging young people and facilities for the disabled.

    Please see our website for further details of all our activities or contact one of our officers if you are interested in trying our sports.


    • NIWPGL Presidents

      1977 - Chris Walker
      1997 - Beth Bailie
      2016 - Sue Willis

    • IWBA President

      2003 - Mrs Sally McGarel

    • Irish Team/Performance Manager

      2006--2013 Mrs Sally McGarel

    • Senior International Players

      1970's Nora Potter & Agnes Doherty
      2003 - 2005 Sally McGarel
      2004 - 2007 Lisa McDonagh
      2006 - 2007 Debbie Bell (nee Atkinson)

    • Junior International Players

      D.Atkinson, H.Bell, J. Kyle, L. McKee
      1990 - 1995 Lisa McKee
      2010 - Nicole Burns

    • NIWPGL Championships Singles

      2003 - Elizabeth Woods

    • NIWPGL Championships Triples

      N.Potter, S.Sutter, M.Sheppard
      S.McGarel, M.McAuley, L.McMaster

    • IWBA Championships Singles

      1996 under 25 Irish Champion Lisa McKee

    • IWBA Championships Triples

      2004 S.McGarel ,M.McAuley, L.McMaster

    • Junior League Singles

      2008 J.Ervine

    • Evening League Pairs Winners

      2016 Julie Jenkins, Jill Whelan

    • Senior Inter Association Players

      B. Bailie, S.McGarel, D.Atkinson,
      L. McDonagh, E.Woods, M.McAuley,
      K. McRandall, J.Ervine

    • Junior Inter Association Players

      J.Whelan. N. Bell. J. Moore,
      J. Jobling, M. McGookin

    • Senior League Winners


    • Junior League Winners

      1994, 1995

    • Stylux Cup Winners

      2003, 2013

    • Hazel Getty Cup Winners

      1989, 1995, 2003

    • Personal Acheivements

      Lisa McDonagh (nee McKee)
      1996 Under 25 Irish Champion
      2005 Bronze Medal Atlantic Rim Games

      Elizabeth Woods
      2006 City of Belfast Singles

      Debbie Bell (nee Atkinson)
      2007 European Championships ( Cyprus )
      2007 World Bowls Test Series