• Address

    Shaftesbury B.C.
    Downing Park
    Annadale Avenue
    028 9064 2801

  • President


  • Secretary

    Mrs H. Forrester
    52, Upper Malvern Road
    BT8 6TF
    028 9070 1442

  • Match Secretary

    Mrs B Armstrong
    BT7 3JS
    028 9069 1431

Shaftesbury Bowling Club

    The Ladies Committee was formed on 13th January 1955 .The prime object of this committee was to assist the male members organise fundraising events in aid of the new pavilion at Downing Park. At a meeting on 9th April 1956, twenty ladies indicated they would like to play bowls, and during the summer months they had permission to bowl each afternoon except Wednesday and Saturday. Mrs E Downing was installed as President of the Ladies section in February 1957.

    In 1968 it was decided to join both the I.W.B.A.and N.I.W.P.G.L. to play in the Senior League and Cup matches. With growing interest in competitive bowling a "B" team wasintroduced in 1979, culminating in 1996 with an "A" team and two "B" teams.


    • NIWPGL Presidents

      1984 - Mrs Jean Ham

    • IWBA President

      1998 - Mrs Babs Armstrong

    • International Player

      1971 - Mrs Jill Smyth

    • World Bowls Player

      1974, 1976 - A. Patton

    • NIWPGL Championships Singles Winners


    • NIWPGL Championships Triples Winners

      1996 - Two teams from Shaftesbury in final
      Winners - L. McCrory, J. Alford, E. Kilpatrick
      Runner up - B. Boyd, L. Taylor, B. Armstrong

    • NIWPGL Championships Fours Winners


    • NIWPGL Championships Fours Runners Up


    • Stylux Cup Runners Up